JoyfullyDancingDaughter

Silent No More…

Leave a comment

I’ve held my tongue for long enough and I can’t do it anymore. What this world is turning into infuriates me! The way that we treat each other is absolutely appalling! And it needs to be called out.

Technology has taken over our lives. We no longer have to be personal or truly share life, it’s “all” out there and is done for us…through Facebook, Twitter, social media, etc…

As my mom says, “It seems like people have forgotten that phones were made for calling people.”

For the past three years I have noticed a trend on my birthday…more Facebook messages, no phone calls, fewer texts, and even fewer birthday cards.

My love language is quality time. When someone takes the time to pick up the phone to call me, sends a letter, or prays with me it absolutely makes my day! My heart rejoices in the time spent connecting with that person. This is the best gift I could ever be given.

We, as a culture, have neglected to take time to care and share with others how we feel about them, unless prompted by Facebook or another form of media to do so.

But my frustration goes beyond this…

These day, people are speaking poorly of one another and using words like “idiot” and “stupid” and “moron” as if it’s okay.

Girls believe they aren’t beautiful because that is the message the world sends them daily.

Conflict is running rampant. It has not been dealt with, causing anger to grow and people to become more resentful.

We refuse to open our eyes and see the hurt happening around them, and if they do see it they aren’t doing anything to stop it.

The phrases… “I am sorry.” “I forgive you.” and “I love you.” …have become a foreign language in our world. They are three of the most powerful phrases, yet some of the most unused.

This breaks my heart.

It is NOT okay.

The devil is having a field day, people! I am just as guilty as the next person of sinning and will be the first to admit it. But sin has overtaken our world…and we are HELPING it!

“The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy;” ~ John 10:10, NIV

So today, I am going to begin making a conscious effort to pick up phone or write (and mail) a card to share with others just how much they mean to me, especially on their special days. I want to know those around me and walk with them, just as God walks with me.

To live as Christ desires me to…

“Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good. 10 Be devoted to one another in love. Honor one another above yourselves. 11 Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord. 12 Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. 13 Share with the Lord’s people who are in need. Practice hospitality.

14 Bless those who persecute you; bless and do not curse. 15 Rejoice with those who rejoice; mourn with those who mourn. 16 Live in harmony with one another. Do not be proud, but be willing to associate with people of low position. Do not be conceited.

17 Do not repay anyone evil for evil. Be careful to do what is right in the eyes of everyone. 18 If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone. 19 Do not take revenge, my dear friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written: “It is mine to avenge; I will repay,” says the Lord. 20 On the contrary:

“If your enemy is hungry, feed him;
if he is thirsty, give him something to drink.
In doing this, you will heap burning coals on his head.”
21 Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.”
~ Romans 12:9-21, NIV

Will you join me?

Will you take time to write a card or say, “I love you?” Maybe you know someone struggling and they just need a hug. Is there a young girl in your life who doesn’t see themselves as beautiful? Or would you take a moment to ask and listen to how your child or spouse’s day went? Is there a conflict that you could help resolve by saying, “I’m sorry” or “I forgive you?”

Sin may be running rampant, but we can run too…as little lights of God’s love, mercy, and grace!

Author: joyfullydancingdaughter

Hello! I am a daughter, a sister, and a friend, but most importantly I am a princess of the King! I am dancing for joy in thanksgiving for all the blessings God has given to me in my life. Through this blog, I hope to share those blessings with you! In His Loving Arms, JoyfullyDancingDaughter

Leave a comment